The island has a long, multicultural history from conquerors of the past that have left traces visible today.
Due to its separation from the rest of Greece caused by the occupation of the island from the Franks, the Venetians and the British, the local architecture was established mostly by the Venetian and Neoclassical styles.
De Bosset Bridge is the largest stone bridge on a sea water body and has been in existence since 1813, when the Swiss engineer Charles Philippe De Bosset was employed by the British Army.
The lighthouse offers not only a guiding light for the incoming and outgoing ships, but also a classical, romantic spot for locals and visitors. It is a unique circular structure, based on 20 white Doric architectural style columns and its tower is 8 m tall. It was built when Charles Napier was governor of Kefalonia, in 1828.
The lagoon of Koutavos offers a breathtaking greenery of the city of Argostoli. It is a small green paradise near the noisy capital city. The shallowness was characterized particularly dangerous in the past (before the bridge was built) because of the marshy nature.
Picturesque and lively the port of Argostoli used to be filled with travelers, merchants and wandering sailors.
The town of Argostoli on the narrow Fanari peninsula projecting out from Argostoli Gulf was the nerve centre for all trade and commerce activities for the villagers in the island. But the inlet separated Argostoli from mainland Kefalonia made it compulsory to travel around the perimeter of the 5 km long inlet.
Tile rooftops, light colors, traditional balconies and a mixture of Neoclassical and baroque elements are the main characteristics of the architecture of Kefalonia. All dominated by the power of nature with trees and wild greenery growing through the stones, and create the absolute time travelling sense.
The to-be-solved transportation problems of the villagers allayed their fears about possible invasions and the De-Bosset Bridge was completed and remained the boundary between the sea and Koutavos lagoon.